Maybelline colossal kajal Review

My love for kohl was never very intense and that is basically because I did not like getting raccoon eyes every time. As a kid the only kohl I was familiar with is the Lakme kajal. Waterproof and kajal can go hand in hand was a dream then until maybelline came up with their colossal kajal which became a instant favorite for me. So by now you can understand that I would be raving about this kajal in the review- saying that,  I would try and not be biased. 😛

What the brand claims:

Colossal effect: Enriched with Olive oil esters,Vitamin E, Vitamin C derivatives and conditioning agents,Colossal kajal has our deepest black formula,a unique tip and exclusive color fix formula,which gives you smooth intense black colour that stays on for up to12 hours. The Colossal Kajal is ophthalmologically tested and is suitable for contact lens wearers.

image

The packaging:
The kajal comes in a slim, yellow twist up pencil like tube with bold black lettering printed on the tube mentioning the name and brand. The twist up functions well but in certain faulty tubes, it can break– happened with me on my second tube and it is irreparable- the kajal becomes completely useless when you cannot twist up the product. But overall it is travel friendly and sturdy otherwise. It can fit very well in the slimmest of purses.

My take on the kajal:

I have been using this kajal since it was launched in its 6 hour formulation. I am through with three tubes already so you can understand that how well in like this kajal. I find the new 12hour formulation to be a definite improvement. The kajal is smoother while applying and does not cause any kind of stress on my eyes while applying. my eyes are not watery but I have oily eyelids and hardly any kajal lasts on my waterline or eyelids. But this particular kajal fares well enough. On my waterline it lasts 5-6hours without smudging during winters and in summers, around 4 to 4.5 hours. On the eyelid is lasts much longer- i have not really tested whether it is true to the 12 hour claim but it definitely stays put without smudging on mu eyelids from morning till the time I return home which is often quite late.wpid-dscn1793-copy.jpg.jpeg

The pigmentation of the kajal is not the blackest black that you can get but black enough. The kajal cannot be sharpened and hence after the tip gets blunt you have to be very careful with application to get the finest lines. The kajal is matte and removing it can be quite a pain. It fades with soap and water but to completely get rid of it, I use Baby oil.

wpid-dscn1794-copy.jpg.jpeg

It does not sting my eyes in any way. I use it majorly in the upper lash line so that my lash looks fuller, but I have not seen any kind of adverse effect so far. The kajal is used by my mother and sister as well who have dry and normal skin type respectively. They too have never faced any kind of trouble.One kajal lasts fairly for a long time despite being used by three people in my home- at least for 3months. So it is indeed cost effective. Overall this is one kajal that is perfect for someone on a budget.wpid-dscn1808-copy.jpg.jpeg wpid-dscn1813-copy.jpg.jpeg

Pros:

  • available easily
  • budget friendly
  • pigmented enough
  • truly waterproof and smudgeproof
  • does not sting eyes
  • travel friendly

Cons:

  • if the twist mechanism malfunctions-the entire tube becomes useless.

Will I repurchase?

I have been repurchasing it for all these times now.

Comparative analysis:

So far I have used three kajals- lakme eyeconic in black, maybelline colossal kajal, and Lo’real Kajal magique. among these, maybelline is truly waterproof and smudgeproof and lasts the longest on my oily eyelids and waterline. Lakme is the blackest and smoothest is formulation though it starts smudging within 2hours on my waterline. Lastly Lo’real is neither pigmented nor lasting so I will skip talking about it at all.

Rate: 4.5/5(0.5 deducted for the mayhem I had with my second tube)

2 thoughts on “Maybelline colossal kajal Review

Leave a Reply

