Makeup revolution matte foundation golden

Hi friends!

Today I am going to review a foundation that I recently purchased online. Base makeup are those essentials that you cannot do without when you have a occasion or function to attend and know that you would be photographed. You would not want to look dull and lifeless would you? This particular foundation is by makeup revolution which is a popular British drugstore cosmetic brand that is recently available on Flipkart. I had read a lot about their products while checking for “budget makeup” online and when I found them on Flipkart, I could not resist getting the stuffs I need.

DSCN3012

Personally, I do not use foundation much except for day out with friends or parties and even then I prefer light coverage matte finish product that would suit my oily skin type. hence when I read the name “the matte effect”, and the shade name golden I decided taking the risk and it is worth it- you will soon find out why.

Price: Rs. 425 on discount

Quantity: 30ml

My take on the foundation:

Packaging:

The foundation comes in a flat tube with a black screw down cap. The nozzle is long for the size of the tube and it is thin. The colour of the tube is of biscuit colour and the name of the brand and the variant is written in gold lettering on the tube. The caps shut down very firmly and the nozzle dispenses exactly the amount you want.

DSCN3015

Texture:

The foundation has lotion like consistency and is quite light on the skin. It is very easy to blend in and does not get patchy if you take time with the blending. The best way to blend it that I found is applying it as dots and then using your fingers to roughly blend it and finally with a stippling brush you can completely blend it.

DSCN3016

Staying power

The foundation claims to impart a matte finish and stay up to 16 hours intact. On my oily skin and the weather of Kolkata, this is bit of an exaggeration. The foundation gives a light dewy finish and the oiliness is kept at bay for about 6hours which is enough for me. After that my face starts looking oily again though the brightness of the foundation does not fade away completely.

The colour

The best part about the foundation is that this is a perfect match for me. The shade golden is just the right shade for my skin tone and for the first time I am thoroughly happy with the match and the staying power at the same time for a foundation.

Does it photograph well?

It does. I have not tried it on during evening parties yet, but it does not flash or look washed out in the flash of the camera when I tried it in the artificial low lights with the camera flash. However in the morning time pictures it looks very natural. It does not contain SPF but I have used foundations which looks dull in the flash even when they do not have SPF.

In short, the foundation is perfect for those who prefer light coverage foundation that is comfortable and does not get patchy and rubs off.

Here are the images showing the differences between the looks with and without the foundation.

Desktop

Pros:

  • Shade selection- they even have a cocoa shade which is suitable for dusky indian skin tones though the same cannot be said about major indian brands.
  • Matte finish for about 6 hours
  • Light coverage- can be build up to medium
  • Easy to blend
  • Photographs well
  • Travel friendly packaging
  • Suitable for oily skin
  • Affordable price

Cons:

  • Availability- available online only.
  • Probably would not last for more than 3-4 hours in the summers of Kolkata.

 

 

Leave a Reply

