Avon simply pretty cherry red review

So the other day when I was going through my collection of makeup and cleaning up my place, which I rarely do, I noted the woeful absence of a classic red lipstick. Not that I really needed one given that I hardly sport bold lips and I really do not like buying something that I would be using once in a while and it would expire after couple of uses. But red is a colour that tempts us all and so I was out, searching for an economical option but should be true red. I knew of this lipstick and soon managed to get one and after using it for almost six months, here is what I think of it.
Price: Rs. 169 but I got it at a discount for rs.129 for 4.2g
Packaging
image

The lipstick tube is magenta in colour and has a baby pink band in the middle. The name of the range is printed in baby pink as well. The shade name is mentioned below the tube. The tube feels flimsy but the cap shuts firmly and since it is made of plastic chances of breaking or cracking is minimal.
My view of the lipstick
Texture:
The lipstick is moisturizing in texture and glides very smoothly on the lips. the lipstick does not feel heavy or stretchy on the lips even after a few minutes from application. However it can bleed due to the moisturizing texture particularly at the corner of the lips. it can also transfer very easily and smudges if you rub your lips even a bit somewhere. The lipstick would not survive a heavy meal and leave a patch stain after meals.

dscn4187

Pigmentation:
The lipstick is much pigmented and covers the pigmentation of your lips with a single swipe. For a deeper shade, one can build up the colour with double swipe but after that it can get streaky.
Longevity:
The lipstick can survive on the lips without any heavy meals for about 4-4.5 hours. It is easy to remove. I am not very fond of the moisturising shiny texture so usually matte down the texture with powder and tissue paper and after that it has survived really well for around 6hours even with a full course meal in between.
Color:
The colour is true red. There is no sparkle in it. the colour would suit everyone and perfect for parties. If you are thinking about trying out red lipstick for frst time and do not want to spent a fortune on a lipstick and then regret buying it because it is not suiting you, this lipstick is very good option to choose. A true scarlet red at such  low price is near impossible to find these days- even the elle 18 lipsticks with new formulations are priced higher than this one.
image

image

Rate: 4.5/5
Would I recommend?
Yes, highly recommended for beginners or someone looking for economical options.

Leave a Reply

